Awesomely Bad Training Videos: Wendy’s Hot Drinks

For today’s awesomely bad training video, we have another gem from Wendy’s. This time, the team that brought us “Grill Skills” teaches us how to serve hot beverages.

I can’t help but feel that the producers of this video decided to go for the cheap joke here and sexualize hot drinks. The shadows and jewel tones, the come-hither eyes directed at the styrofoam cup – I almost expected an “I like my coffee like I like my men” joke. It bordered on creepy.

And then there’s the matter of the tea.

As a tea drinker, there is nothing more aggravating than being served a cup of hot water with a tea bag on the side. Proper tea-making requires pouring near-boiling water over the tea bag, not dunking the bag in a tepid cup.

But now that I’ve had a shower to wash off the creepy, and made myself a proper cup of tea, I’m trying think back on what the video was trying to teach me:

  • I remember some kind of text appearing near the beginning, but I don’t remember what it said.
  • I don’t recall any tips like proper water temperature or how much cream and sugar to give the customer.
  • I’m not sure what size cup you’re supposed to use with the instant Sanka, and did they even cover hot chocolate?

In fact, the only thing I think I learned is that I’ll probably never order a hot beverage from Wendy’s.

h/t to @samyberg for bringing this one to my attention!

Posted in training videos

Leave a Reply

